Sunday, May 4, 2014

2014 DMV Updates: Hybrid Tax, Birth Certificates & Mopeds

July 1 is always an important date for new laws, but here are a few things people should be aware of effective July 1 when it comes to vehicles this year.

Hybrid Tax Repeal
Senator Adam Ebbin and I made repeal of the hybrid tax a priority.  That goes into effect on July 1, 2014 and customers who have pre-paid to register their hybrid vehicles for multiple years will be entitled to a refund for the pre-paid registration years that begin on July 1, 2014 and after.

Individuals whose registration expires prior to July 1, 2014, but who do not renew their registration until after that date, will still owe the $64.  They will also be assessed a $10 late fee, per the Code.

I will post more information regarding the refund process when I have it, but DMV expects to have a refund process ready by July 1, 2014.

Birth Certificates
One of the advantages to being born in Washington, D.C. is that when I needed an official birth certificate, I can just hop across the Potomac River.  My sister, was born in Virginia and always had to go to Richmond.

Effective March 1, 2014, you can obtain an official copy of your birth certificate at a DMV branch location.

Moped Registration
As a result of legislation passed in the 2013 Session, all mopeds operating on the public roads must be titled, registered, and carry license plates by July 1, 2014.  More information is available at the DMV website:

Vehicle Sales Tax Increase
Beginning July 1, 2014, the sales and use tax (SUT) on vehicles increases from 4 percent to 4.05 percent. This increase is part of the transportation funding package adopted by the General Assembly last year, which gradually increases the SUT to 4.15 percent by 2016. The minimum SUT remains $75.  As with the previous incremental increase, the date of the sale determines the tax owed, for vehicles purchased in Virginia.
Vehicle Inspection for Military Members
Effective July 1, 2014, active military members residing in Virginia who return from an official absence have 14 calendar days to obtain a current vehicle safety inspection sticker. Under current law, updated inspection stickers are due within five business days.

No comments:

Post a Comment